Yammer: What are Groups? The Basics
Posted by Joann Guilmett, Last modified by Peter Simari on 05 April 2018 10:17 AM

Groups are a great way to reach a more targeted audience within your Yammer network. On your network, there will be a Plymouth State University Group by default and additional groups can be created as public or private. The Plymouth State University Group is the default group everyone posts into. Like any other group, it contains messages posted directly to it. Messages you post are delivered to your followers and others who might find them useful. Messages posted in a public group will show up in the "My Feed" of every member of the PSU Yammer Community. 

On the other hand, messages posted in private groups will only show up in the My Feed for every member of the group and cannot be seen by users who aren't members of the group. Likewise, non members of these private groups will not see messages when they visit a private group’s page.

Below are some how-to's for using Groups:

To create a new group, go to "Groups Directory" in the left-hand column and click on the "+" next to the "GROUPS" heading. Here, you can choose a group name, description, and permission settings for who can join. 

Once you have your group name, description and privacy setting in place, click the "Create Group" button to launch it. On the next screen you'll have the ability to invite other members of the network to your group. While you can add current members or invite prospective members using their email addresses, you won't see anyone who isn't already a network member show up right after you add them; they will need to accept your invitation and create a Yammer account before they will show as a member of your group.

To delete a group, go to the group's page and then click the "Settings" button next to the "Joined" button in the group's header section. On the group Settings page, click the "Delete Group" link located in the bottom right-hand corner. (Note: You must be the group administrator in order to delete a group.)

To join or leave a group, click on "Groups Directory" in the left-hand column and you will see a list of the groups in your network. Depending on whether you are a member of the group already, you will see a "Join" button or a "Joined" button next to each group listed. When you hover over the "Joined" button, it will change to "Leave", giving you the option to leave the group right from this screen. You have the ability to immediately join or leave any group when you click on either button, with the exception of private groups. Private groups require that the group admin accept your request to join. You can also leave or join a group by visiting its homepage and clicking "Join" in the upper right-hand header section, or hovering over "Joined" in the same place to expose the "Leave" option. 

To post in a group, click in the update text field of your My Feed. After typing in your message, click on the "my colleagues" text below the text field. From the drop down, select the group you want your message to be sent to and then click "Update". Alternatively, you can post a message in a group directly from the group homepage. One last way to post to a group is to start a message by typing "to:groupname." Anything after this text will appear as a message in that group. You can find the short group name you should use to post from your My Feed by visiting its homepage:

 

Return to the Yammer Knowledge Base

(0 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful