Yammer: What is the difference between public and private groups?
Posted by Joann Guilmett, Last modified by Jessica Brusa on 05 April 2018 10:16 AM

Messages posted in a public group will show up in the My Feed of every member of the group. Additionally, people who aren't members of a public group can view its messages by going to the group's page.

Messages posted in private groups will also show up in the My Feed for every member of the group, however, users outside of the private group will not see its messages on the group's page. 

Anyone in the network can join a public group, while an admin of a private group must invite or approve membership. In Basic groups, the privacy setting cannot be changed once the group is created whereas in Premium groups, the privacy setting can be changed by an admin any time.

Files uploaded to private groups will not be viewable to members outside of the group, but their file names will show up in the network's Files directory.

 

Return to the Yammer Knowledge Base

(0 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful