This article provides a list of recommended Zoom settings that enables a host to control how participants interact in a meeting. The intended purpose is to prevent unwanted material from being shared by students and unwanted guests from accessing the meeting room.
- Add a Meeting Password - this can be enabled at the time the meeting is scheduled when creating a Zoom meeting, check the Require Meeting Password setting. This will allow you to set a custom password that your students will use to join.
- Enable a Waiting Room - the Waiting Room feature can be enabled at the time the meeting is scheduled or after starting a meeting. The join before host option is disabled when the waiting room feature is enabled. The following two options apply:
- Scheduling your meeting
- Check the Enable Waiting Room option
- Enabling during a Session
- Click on Manage Participants > More > Put Attendee in Waiting Room on Entry
- Prevent Participant Screen Sharing - to prevent participants from sharing their screen during an online session, toggle the Who Can Share? option to Host Only. This is found under the host controls at the bottom of the Zoom window by clicking the arrow next to Share Screen and selecting Advanced Sharing Options.
- Disable Private Chat functionality
- Disable the ability to Remote Control another user’s device
- Confirm that the Allow Removed Participants to Rejoin option is disabled
If you have any questions, please contact the Help Desk at (603)535-2929 or email email@example.com